Post-Match: Evatt on Bolton's Win at Stockport County

  • November 14, 2023 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Ian Evatt praised the professionalism of his players, after they secured top-spot in their Bristol Street Motors Trophy group with victory at Stockport County.

Despite missing five players due to international call-ups, as well as a number of others through injury, Wanderers were still able to name a strong side at Edgeley Park, where a first-half brace from Jon Dadi Bodvarsson earned them a 2-0 win that ensured a home tie in the next round of the competition.

Speaking after the final whistle, Evatt felt the margin of the win should have been greater but gave credit to his players, after they ended County's 13-match winning run in all competitions.

"I think some of our play tonight was fantastic," Evatt told The Bolton News. "The players applied themselves in the correct way - we wanted to be professional.

"Obviously, we are frustrated not to score more. I think our performance deserved more goals but credit to their keeper, he made some great saves, and some poor finishing in the final third.

"Some of our approach play and patterns were there for all to see. I am proud of the players tonight because it wasn't an easy fixture to take on after an important block of league games, and in the international break.

"To have this extra game was a little bit frustrating as I spoke about prior to the game, but we asked the players to apply themselves correctly and treat it as the last bit of work before they can reset. They did that exactly how I would expect them to do it, professionally.

"It is amazing that our fans travelled in those numbers for this type of game, great credit to them. It was a pleasure to listen to them singing and watching us play like that. It was a really enjoyable evening."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Bolton Wanderers 18 39
2 Portsmouth 18 39
3 Oxford United 18 36
4 Stevenage 20 36
5 Peterborough United 19 35
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2022/23 Player of the Year?
25.9% Conor Bradley
22.3% James Trafford
20.09% Dion Charles
10.05% Kyle Dempsey
6.82% Aaron Morley
6.45% Ricardo Almeida Santos
3.5% George Johnston
3.32% Eoin Toal
1.01% Kieran Lee
0.55% Gethin Jones