Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Fleetwood Town

  • November 30, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Ian Evatt has vowed to hand opportunities to his academy prospects as Bolton host Fleetwood Town in the Papa John's Trophy on Tuesday night.

Wanderers, who progressed through the group stage of the competition with a perfect record - beating Port Vale, Liverpool U21 and Rochdale - have been decimated by injury in recent weeks and the manager has resisted temptation to throw any inexperienced names in at the deep end.

With just 13 senior outfield options available for selection that looks set to change, with the pressures of league football put aside and a lower attendance providing a more suitable environment for mistakes to be made.

Max Conway, Arran Pettifer and Mitchell Henry have all been named amongst the substitutes in recent weeks and are likely to be involved in some capacity against Fleetwood, while defender Ryan Colvin is also pushing for inclusion in the matchday squad.

The likes of Adam Senior, Liam Edwards, Dennis Politic and several others perhaps would have been involved had they not been sent out on loan, leaving Evatt with a similar headache to the one he has endured in recent games.

With very little room for movement, Xavier Amaechi and Nathan Delfouneso could potentially feature to give rests to Elias Kachunga and Eoin Doyle, although Oladapo Afolayan is back in contention after sitting out the weekend draw with Cheltenham Town through suspension.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Gilks, Dixon, John, Santos, Johnston, Aimson, Baptiste, Gordon, Colvin, Amaechi, Afolayan, Lee, Thomason, Tweedley, Conway, Pettifer, Delfouneso, Doyle, Kachunga, Henry





Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
15 Shrewsbury Town 26 30
16 Cambridge United 25 30
17 Bolton Wanderers 25 29
18 Lincoln City 25 28
19 Fleetwood Town 25 28
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney