Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Stockport County

  • November 06, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton will be looking to avoid an unwanted hat-trick on Sunday when they host Stockport County in the first-round of the Emirates FA Cup.

Wanderers have been eliminated at the first stage in each of the last two campaigns but haven't been knocked out at this particular hurdle in three successive years since 1911, which just so happens to be the last time they were beaten in the competition by non-league opposition - Chesterfield on that occasion.

After ending a five-game winless run with victory at Rochdale in the Papa John's Trophy this past Tuesday, Ian Evatt will be looking to inject some further confidence into his players as they embark upon a run of four home fixtures in their next five outings.

The Trotters boss received a quadruple boost on Friday with news that Gethin Jones, MJ Williams, Kieran Lee and George Thomason had extended their contracts with the club, although Jones will not be in contention for the weekend tie as he continues his recovery from a fractured leg.

Andrew Tutte (hamstring) remains the only other long-term absentee, while both Harry Brockbank (calf) and Josh Sheehan (back) are doubts after picking up minor knocks at the Crown Oil Arena last time out.

Liam Edwards made a late substitute appearance in that game and could be set for his first appearance on home soil since January 2020, while attacking options have taken a welcome boost this week with both Amadou Bakayoko (ankle) and Xavier Amaechi (foot) returning to full training.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Gilks, Dixon, John, Santos, Johnston, Aimson, Brockbank, Edwards, Baptiste, Gordon, Williams, Sheehan, Amaechi, Afolayan, Lee, Isgrove, Thomason, Pettifer, Delfouneso, Doyle, Bakayoko, Kachunga, Henry

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston