Post-Match: Evatt on Bolton's Win Over Barnsley

  • August 11, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton's Carabao Cup victory over Barnsley should come as no surprise, according to manager Ian Evatt.

After a goalless 90 minutes at the University of Bolton Stadium, Wanderers scored all five of their spot-kicks in the shootout - progressing through to round two of the competition after Joel Dixon saved from Tykes substitute Devante Cole.

It was the first time in eight years that the Trotters had beaten opposition from a higher tier and Evatt believes the result was fully merited.

"You can see what it meant to the crowd and what it means to us," Evatt told OfficialBWFC on YouTube.

"Winning football matches is a habit and we want to get used to winning.

"I thought it was a good competitive game. They finished 5th in the Championship last season and they're an excellent team.

"I thought they dominated the first-half but then second-half, we did. We were more on the front-foot and more aggressive.

"We're not always going to play nice, attractive football. Sometimes you just have to compete and we did that tonight. I thought, second-half, we deserved the victory.

"We've shown during pre-season that we can compete with Championship teams.

"I think we've got a really good squad. We made some changes and the players that came in did their jobs, but I thought when (Amadou) Bakayoko and (Elias) Kachunga came on that gave us the spark to kick on and get the victory.

"The squad is really competitive. We've got some good options in different areas of the pitch and we've utilised that squad tonight.

"We're all in this together. The lads who haven't got on and the ones who aren't in the squad at the moment have got to stay positive. It's only the second game of the season and we're going to need everybody."

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston