Bolton Give New Deals to Baptiste & Tutte

  • May 28, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton have been handed a double boost ahead of next season, after Alex Baptiste and Andrew Tutte both signed new 12-month contracts.

Having endured a miserable spell with Wanderers earlier in his career, Baptiste returned to the club last August to a mixed response from supporters but won over his doubters during an outstanding campaign - making 42 appearances in all competitions as the Trotters secured promotion to League One.

Baptiste has previously revealed how frustrated he had been during his time at the University of Bolton Stadium between 2013 and 2015, but admits there was no doubt where his future would lie after a more enjoyable stint this time around.

"I am delighted to have got it done," Baptiste told "The club is moving in the right direction and massive credit must go to the board and staff.

"Getting promoted with the club was one of my best achievements in the game.

"I'm looking forward to next season and there is only one way this club is moving and that is up."

Like Baptiste, Tutte's existing contract had been due to expire on June 30.

The 30-year-old featured heavily in the early part of this campaign but featured just twice since the arrival of MJ Williams in February.

Many had expected the former Bury midfielder to depart this summer but Tutte says the opportunity to play in front of returning fans next season was a prospect too good to turn down.

Also speaking to, Tutte said: "I'm really buzzing to have signed a new deal at the club and I'm so excited to be part of this team again for next season.

"I'm looking forward to having the fans back in the stadium which we didn't have last year.

"Playing in front of such passionate fans will give the lads even more of a buzz and I can't wait!"

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston