Post-Match: Evatt on Bolton's Win at Southend United

  • February 20, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Ian Evatt hailed Bolton's new-found strength in depth after Shaun Miller came off the bench to score the only goal in Wanderers' 1-0 win at Southend United.

Miller, who has been frustrated by injury for much of the campaign, scored his 100th career goal at Roots Hall to give the Trotters a third consecutive victory that moves them to within three points of the final League Two play-off place.

Speaking after the game, Evatt acknowledged his team were perhaps below-par in periods but admits finding a winning habit during such times is a sign of the character within his squad.

"We just found a way to win and sometimes good teams in good form find a way," Evatt told OfficialBWFC on YouTube.

"The conditions weren't great for the football we want to play but you have to find a way to win and we did that in the second half.

"First-half, we controlled it, had the better chances and would have made our lives easier by taking the lead.

"Matt (Gilks) hasn't had a save to make all afternoon, it was a scrappy game but I'm delighted to come away with the three points.

"You can't play well every week and you certainly can't play well on pitches like this.

"I was more frustrated with the first-half because we had the chances and opportunities to make our lives a lot easier. The first goal in these types of games is always vital.

"It's very much a squad game at the moment. We've now got really good players available in reserve to change the game. We can bring them on and get us over the line."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Salford City 29 45
8 Newport County 28 44
9 Bolton Wanderers 30 44
10 Carlisle United 26 43
11 Bradford City 28 40
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone