Bolton Boss Explains Hickman and Mascoll Omission

  • February 19, 2021 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Ian Evatt insists the door is not closed on Jak Hickman and Jamie Mascoll, despite their omission from the EFL squad list.

Despite featuring regularly in the early part of the season, both Hickman and Mascoll are currently ineligible to play for the remainder of the campaign after they were withdrawn from the official playing squad following the closure of the January transfer window.

An official document, posted at, shows Bolton have used 21 of their maximum permitted 22-man squad, meaning they can add another player should they see fit in the closing stages of the League Two schedule.

Whilst their inclusion currently looks unlikely, Evatt says out-of-favour players will always receive opportunities if they prove their worth in training on a daily basis.

Speaking to The Bolton News, Evatt said: "We are limited to the numbers we can have and had to make a decision on the players we registered and those we didn't initially because of our transfer targets in the window, but as you can see there is still space in the squad to re-register once they get themselves back into the group.

"But it is down to them to get their head down, prove it and get into this squad at the moment because it is very competitive.

"I said last week that the key part of football is self-analysis and being honest with yourself. Managers don't pick teams, the players pick the team with what they do on a day-to-day basis.

"If you do the right things every single day then the manager cannot ignore you forever. It is down to them to get themselves back into the team.

"I am more than fair with that. If they show what I want them to then they are more than welcome. The door is not shut on anyone."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Salford City 29 45
8 Newport County 28 44
9 Bolton Wanderers 30 44
10 Carlisle United 26 43
11 Bradford City 28 40
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone