Team News: Stevenage v Bolton Wanderers

  • November 20, 2020 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton and Stevenage meet for the very first time on Saturday, as Ian Evatt takes his Wanderers side to the Lamex Stadium.

After beating Newcastle United U21 in the Papa John's Trophy this past Tuesday, the Trotters head south looking to secure three consecutive wins in all competitions for the first time in 12 months - when Keith Hill guided them to wins over Bristol Rovers, Manchester City U21 and Fleetwood Town, respectively.

Under new EFL rulings introduced during the course of the week, clubs will be able to make up to a maximum of five substitutions for the remainder of the current campaign and Evatt is likely to take full advantage as his squad begins to increase in number following an early-season struggle against injury.

Harry Brockbank (hamstring), Liam Edwards (knee) and Dennis Politic (knee) remain long-term absentees, although Bolton do now have the option to call upon the likes of Lloyd Isgrove, Shaun Miller and Gethin Jones after their own spells on the sidelines.

Matt Gilks will return in goal ahead of Billy Crellin, who came in for further criticism in midweek, while George Thomason could earn himself a place on the bench after being recalled from a loan spell at non-league Bamber Bridge.

Antoni Sarcevic, Tom White and Eoin Doyle have shown no ill-effects after overcoming injuries, giving Evatt food for thought as he looks to celebrate his 39th birthday weekend with an all-important three points on the road.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Crellin, Gilks, Alexander, Hutchinson, Jones, Gordon, Taft, Santos, Delaney, Hickman, Mascoll, Greenidge, Baptiste, Kioso, Senior, Comley, Sarcevic, Crawford, White, Darcy, Tutte, Isgrove, Thomason, Delfouneso, Doyle, Amoateng, Miller, Gnahoua

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
11 Port Vale 14 19
12 Harrogate Town 14 19
13 Bolton Wanderers 14 19
14 Morecambe 14 19
15 Crawley Town 14 18
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone