Dennis Politic to Miss Entire League Two Campaign

  • August 20, 2020 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Dennis Politic is expected to miss the entire 2020/21 campaign after scans confirmed he has torn an anterior cruciate ligament.

Politic suffered the injury in a recent friendly against Loughborough University and had to leave the field on a stretcher whilst receiving oxygen.

The 20-year-old had been tipped to be one of League Two's breakout stars this coming season but Bolton Head Coach Ian Evatt admits Politic may have to sacrifice short-term goals of a return to action in order to prolong his career going forward.

"He's damaged his ACL, which means it's a long time out," Evatt told

"But from the surgical point of view, he has seen the specialist and it seems to be a pretty straightforward operation.

"We think he will have an operation in about three or four weeks, once the swelling has gone down around the injury and we are prepared for Dennis to be out for the whole season.

"The most important thing now is that we do not rush him and that the rehabilitation process is done properly to allow him to get fully up to speed.

"He's a young lad with a great future ahead of him, so it is vital that we do not risk any further injury or detriment to his career by asking him to set targets that might not be achievable.

"It is equally important that as a staff, team-mates and a club, we are there for Dennis and offer him every single bit of support that he needs - practically, physically and mentally.

"I want to make sure he gets everything he needs to make a complete and successful comeback and that he feels the love around him from the whole club as he undergoes his rehab."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
18 Leyton Orient 6 5
19 Oldham Athletic 6 4
20 Bolton Wanderers 6 4
21 Scunthorpe United 6 4
22 Barrow AFC 6 3
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone