Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Ipswich Town

  • August 23, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Ipswich Town are the visitors to the University of Bolton Stadium on Saturday, as Bolton's young squad face up to life after Phil Parkinson.

Parkinson stepped away from Wanderers on Wednesday after three-and-a-half years in charge - a reign which saw him battle against ongoing ownership and financial issues.

Academy director and former Trotters defender Jimmy Phillips has been placed in interim charge of the club whilst they continue to await news of a successful takeover, meaning the journey of the majority of players comes full circle.

Bolton saw their midweek fixture against Doncaster Rovers postponed over welness concerns, but Phillips will have the same 21-man squad available as Parkinson did for what proved to be his final game - a 5-0 defeat at Tranmere Rovers last Saturday.

Josh Earl and Connor Hall remain sidelined with long-term ankle injuries, while both Liam Edwards (Achilles) and Dennis Politic (hip) miss out once more.

Remi Matthews looks set to continue in goal, despite conceding 10 times in his last two outings, while Matthew Alexander is expected to fend off competition from Luke Hutchinson and the somewhat strange absence of Ben Alnwick.

Yoan Zouma and Harry Brockbank have shaken off minor knocks suffered at Prenton Park and are available for selection, while senior options in the form of Jason Lowe and Luke Murphy will provide a modest form of experience.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Matthews, Alexander, Hutchinson, Brockbank, Zouma, Boon, Senior, White, Richards, Lowe, Murphy, Weir, Graham, King-Harmes, Lockett, Brown-Sterling, Osigwe, Riley, Darcy, Brown

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
15 Shrewsbury Town 26 30
16 Cambridge United 25 30
17 Bolton Wanderers 25 29
18 Lincoln City 25 28
19 Fleetwood Town 25 28
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney