Phil Parkinson Steps Down as Bolton Manager

  • August 21, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Phil Parkinson has resigned from his role as manager of Bolton Wanderers, after growing increasingly frustrated at the club's off-field position.

Parkinson, who was appointed in June 2016 following his departure from Bradford City, took charge of 156 games over a three-and-a-half year stay at the University of Bolton Stadium - a tenture in which he has continually battled through financial constraints and boardroom battles.

In his first season in charge, Parkinson guided Wanderers to promotion as League One runners-up despite operating under a transfer embargo, then pulled off a dramatic final-day escape from relegation the following campaign with victory over Nottingham Forest.

Last season was where things began to unravel, however, with a player strike prior to a pre-season friendly at St Mirren proving to be just the beginning.

The post-Christmas absence and lack of transparency from owner Ken Anderson would eventually lead to the non-fulfilment of a Championship fixture against Brentford in April, which itself arrived just a week after the club had dropped back into the third-tier after a two-year stay.

Bolton were placed into administration on May 13, leading to a mass exodus of playing staff over the close-season, forcing many scholars to feature in first-team matches in the early stages of the current campaign - with a goalless draw against Coventry City on August 10 seeing the youngest line-up in their history.

Parkinson's assistant, Steve Parkin, has also filed his resignation and it is understood Jimmy Phillips will take charge in the interm whilst administrators and prospective owners begin the search for a new full-time boss.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Exeter City 2 1
20 Tranmere Rovers 2 1
21 Bolton Wanderers 2 0
22 Oldham Athletic 2 0
23 Grimsby Town 2 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone