Post-Match: Parkinson on Bolton's Defeat at Rochdale

  • August 13, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Phil Parkinson put Bolton's Carabao Cup exit down to fatigue, after they were beaten 5-2 by Rochdale at the Crown Oil Arena.

Wanderers had twice led courtesy of goals in each half from Ronan Darcy and Dennis Politic - with an Ian Henderson penalty sandwiched between - but Dale struck four times inside the final 31 minutes to seal their passage into round two and a home tie against Carlisle United.

Speaking after the game, Parkinson felt his team were on top and good value for their 2-1 lead early in the second period, but admitted the efforts of Saturday's goalless draw against Coventry City caught up with his young players in the latter stages.

"For 60-65 minutes I was pleased," Parkinson told OfficialBWFC on YouTube. "I thought we did really well.

"The best period we had was after half-time. I thought we were excellent, got a goal and then after their goal we began to look like a tired young team.

"We then picked up a couple of injuries which weakened us and we got punished for a bit of naivety and fatigue, which is inevitable with such a young side.

"The lads have given everything. It was always going to be difficult after such a huge effort at the weekend.

"If you give two youngsters their debut at the weekend, to go with them again is always going to be tough. But when you've got six or seven who are not used to first-team football, it's going to take its toll and I felt you saw that tonight.

"But there are some good signs for us going forward."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone