Team News: Derby County v Bolton Wanderers

  • April 12, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton will have the opportunity to complete a rare league double on Saturday, when they face Derby County at Pride Park.

Wanderers, who have already beaten Birmingham City both at home and on the road this season, could add the Rams to that short list - having secured a 1-0 victory at the University of Bolton Stadium back in September.

The Trotters haven't completed a double over County in nearly 40 years, however, with George Mulhall's squad from 1981/82 the last to achieve that particular feat.

The present-day boss, Phil Parkinson, is expected to make several changes to the side that lined up in defeat to Middlesbrough, as he plans to ditch the 3-5-2 formation which failed to impress on Tuesday.

Marc Wilson is expected to be the fall guy in defence, with his omission likely to allow Pawel Olkowski to drop in at right-back. Andrew Taylor is also pushing for a recall on the opposite side of the backline, after Craig Noone struggled in a wing-back role last time out.

A shuffle in midfield could see both Callum Connolly and Will Buckley return, with Luca Connell considered a doubt due to a hamstring strain picked up during the week.

Sammy Ameobi may also be rested, while Gary O'Neil appears to have overcome a sickness bug that forced him off during last weekend's defeat at home to Ipswich Town.

Jack Hobbs (back) and Luke Murphy (calf) continue to receive treatment for minor injuries, while Jason Lowe and Yanic Wildschut (both ankle) remain on the sidelines.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Matthews, B Williams, Little, Taylor, Beevers, Hobbs, Olkowski, Connolly, Wilson, Grounds, Wheater, Vela, Oztumer, Ameobi, Buckley, Noone, Murphy, O'Neil, J Williams, Dyer, Pritchard, Connell, Donaldson, Magennis, Hall

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston