Two Directors Added to Bolton Takeover Consortium

  • March 13, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Football Ventures (Whites) Limited, the consortium closing in on a takeover of Bolton Wanderers, have listed two new directors at Companies House.

The consortium, widely known to be fronted by the duo of Parminder Basran and Sharon Brittan, yesterday (March 12) added the names of Michael James and Jeff Thomas to official documentation.

Basran, who made his money in food manufacture, hotels and restaurants, is the founder and managing partner of VGC Partners and was last month appointed as a director of WIT Fitness Limited.

Brittan, who, alongside Basran, was the only other to be previously named by Companies House, holds a background in asset management and property development, and presently holds directorship in five different companies.

For those Wanderers supporters who thought they may have seen the name of James previously, they would be correct.

James, then serving under Prescott Business Park, agreed a deal back in January 2016 in which he provided the club with a £5.5million advance, with North Stand office and car parking facilities secured against a loan which ultimately saved the Trotters from administration or, potentially, liquidation.

Thomas, a 61-year-old entrepreneur, holds directorship in no fewer than 32 businesses listed at Companies House. Amongst those is Made By Brittan Ltd, where the aforementioned Sharon Brittan holds the position of Chief Executive Officer.

Talks over a potential takeover at the University of Bolton Stadium are ongoing, with current owner Ken Anderson revealing on Tuesday that a deal is expected to reach fruition by the end of the week.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Accrington Stanley 9 7
20 Portsmouth 7 6
21 Southend United 9 4
22 AFC Wimbledon 10 3
23 Bolton Wanderers 8 -9
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone