Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield Wednesday

  • March 12, 2019 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton host Sheffield Wednesday on Tuesday evening, looking to register back-to-back home league wins for the first time since New Year's Day 2018.

Saturday's 2-1 victory over Millwall was the first time Wanderers had collected maximum points at the University of Bolton Stadium since Boxing Day, reducing the gap between themselves and Championship survival to five points with 10 games left to play.

The win came as a timely bonus for Trotters boss Phil Parkinson, who will once again watch on from the television gantry as he serves the final game of a two-match suspension following his dismissal at Leeds United in February.

Pawel Olkowski and Gary O'Neil were the unlikely goalscorers against the Lions last time out, but the latter may miss out against the Owls as Parkinson looks to inject some fresh legs into a side that turned out just three days prior.

With Joe Williams a minor doubt with bruising to his foot, Luca Connell and Jason Lowe could both return in central midfield - the latter of whom having completed a two-match ban of his own after accumulating 10 yellow cards in league competition this season.

Craig Noone and David Wheater are also available after red cards in the recent defeat at Swansea City forced them out of the weekend win over Millwall.

Yanic Wildschut remains Wanderers' only long-term injury absentee.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Matthews, B Williams, Little, Taylor, Beevers, Hobbs, Olkowski, Connolly, Wilson, Grounds, Wheater, Lowe, Vela, Oztumer, Ameobi, Buckley, Noone, Murphy, O'Neil, J Williams, Dyer, Pritchard, Connell, Donaldson, Magennis, Hall

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
13 Accrington Stanley 27 36
14 Charlton Athletic 27 33
15 Bolton Wanderers 26 32
16 Lincoln City 26 31
17 Cheltenham Town 27 31
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney