Post-Match: Parkinson on Bolton's Draw With Wigan

  • December 01, 2018 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Phil Parkinson believes his players were affected by refereeing decisions, after Bolton were held to a 1-1 draw by Wigan Athletic.

A first meeting between the two Lancashire sides in three-and-a-half years finished all-square at the University of Bolton Stadium, after a controversial penalty from Latics forward Will Grigg cancelled out an early opener from Will Buckley.

Wanderers were denied a late spot-kick of their own in the closing stages when a goalbound volley from Mark Beevers appeared to strike an arm inside the Wigan box and although Parkinson was happy with the performance of his team, he felt they took their foot off the gas following a bright start.

"At the start of the game, up to Wigan's goal, I thought we played really well," Parkinson told

"Their penalty was a contentious decision to say the very least. That kind of knocked us a little bit.

"I felt for that period after the penalty we just dipped and went a bit negative and went backwards with the ball.

"We dug deep again and got the point. We would have loved it to have been all three and we were very unlucky not to get a penalty ourselves.

"The supporters will think we've said that for the last three weeks, but if you look at the incident the player has got his arm in unnatrual position and blocked the cross-shot; I thought the rule was that if your arms were in that position, then it was a penalty.

"But the lads have rolled their sleeves up and given absolutely everything. If we keep working hard for each other and keep plugging away, things will turn for us in terms of turning points into three."

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Harrogate Town 13 16
15 Walsall 13 16
16 Bolton Wanderers 13 16
17 Oldham Athletic 13 14
18 Barrow AFC 13 13
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone