Peterborough United 0-2 Bolton Wanderers

  • July 28, 2018 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton's preparations for the 2018/19 Championship campaign ended in style, with a comfortable 2-0 victory at Peterborough United.

Adam Le Fondre and Sammy Ameobi were on target in the opening 25 minutes at the ABAX Stadium, as Phil Parkinson's side put down a marker ahead of their opening game at West Bromwich Albion next weekend.

There were starting roles for summer arrivals Pawel Olkowski, Jason Lowe, Yanic Wildschut and Clayton Donaldson, while Erhun Oztumer was introduced as a late substitute as he continues his recovery from injury.

Gary O'Neil and Jack Hobbs were named on the bench as their respective trials continue, while veteran goalkeeper Ben Williams isn't expected to be pursued in a playing capacity - as he helps out with coaching at the academy.

Captained by David Wheater, Wanderers broke the deadlock inside 14 minutes against their League One opposition.

It arrived after Peterborough lost possession, allowing Wildschut to receive the ball on halfway. His advancing run towards the United box was followed by Le Fondre, who had the confidence to fire home first-time.

The advantage was doubled 11 minutes later, with Ameobi cutting in from the right before smashing an unstoppable 30-yard drive into the net via the underside of the crossbar.

Bolton were good value for their win, which could have been all the more comfortable, and they will hope to take confidence from the display when they visit the Hawthorns in seven days time.

Bolton Wanderers: Alnwick, Taylor, Beevers, Wheater, Olkowski, Lowe, Vela, Wildschut (Noone 72), Ameobi (Buckley 80), Donaldson (Hall 85), Le Fondre (Oztumer 80)
Subs Not Used: Williams, Hobbs, Little, Darby, O'Neil, Edwards, Pritchard, Earing

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone