Beginning of the End for the Matchday Programme?

  • May 01, 2018 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

For over a century, football supporters have seen match programmes as the ultimate collectable but a close-season EFL vote could bring an end to that tradition.

Responding to requests from 'a number of clubs', the EFL have confirmed a decision to end mandatory production of such publications will be made when representatives of Championship, League One and League Two teams meet in June. Premier League clubs would be unaffected by any ruling.

In the event that proposals are approved, individual clubs would be able to decide whether physical versions of programmes will be necessary, with many said to be reporting a heavy drop in sales over the past decade due to the rise in popularity of social media, fanzines and official club websites.

An official statement, posted at, read: "At its summer meeting in June 2018, EFL clubs will vote on a proposal that will determine whether or not it is an absolute requirement to produce a match programme from the start of season 2018/19 onwards.

"A number of clubs have asked the EFL if the mandatory publication of a match programme can be addressed as a result of an overall decline in sales and the proliferation of digital and social media, which has the ability to deliver the same content in a more cost effective manner.

"Irrespective of the outcome at June's AGM, The EFL will continue to produce a match programme for its five competition finals - the Carabao Cup, Checkatrade Trophy and Sky Bet Play-Offs."

When approached for comment on sales figures by Burnden Aces, Bolton Wanderers declined.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone