[POLL] Bolton Wanderers Player of the Year - 2017/18

  • March 31, 2018 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/cefb3

After a decade of decline, 2017/18 has been a season where Bolton Wanderers have continued to rebuild and the time has come for you, the supporters, to vote for your Player of the Year.

12 months ago, David Wheater was preparing to start a summer of celebrations when he took the award with more than 50% of the public vote, having scored nine goals from defence as Wanderers won promotion as runners-up in League One.

With competition a little stiffer this time around, Wheater faces a difficult task if he is to retain his title and become only the third man in 13 years to claim the award in back-to-back campaigns - following Kevin Davies (2007/08 & 2008/09) and Tim Ream (2013/14 & 2014/15).

Wheater is one of 10 players eligible for your vote, with he and the nine that join him all falling under the following criteria.

Spearing is one of 11 eligible for your vote, with he and the 10 that join him all falling under the following criteria:

- Players must have been at the club since the closure of the summer transfer window.
- Players must have made a minimum of 20 starts in all competitions by the end of March.

Votes can be made by using the poll in the right-hand column of the website. Polls will close at 5pm on May 4, 2018, with the winner being announced following Bolton's final game of the season, against Nottingham Forest, 48 hours later.

Below are the 10 players eligible for your vote this season.

- Antonee Robinson (on loan from Everton)
- Ben Alnwick
- Darren Pratley
- David Wheater
- Josh Vela
- Karl Henry
- Mark Beevers
- Mark Little
- Reece Burke (on loan from West Ham United)
- Sammy Ameobi

Gary Madine is ineligible for selection, following his mid-season transfer to Cardiff City.

Previous winners of the Burnden Aces Player of the Year award are as follows:

2016/17 - David Wheater
2015/16 - Rob Holding
2014/15 - Tim Ream
2013/14 - Tim Ream
2012/13 - Jay Spearing
2011/12 - Nigel Reo-Coker
2010/11 - Stuart Holden
2009/10 - Lee Chung-Yong
2008/09 - Kevin Davies
2007/08 - Kevin Davies
2006/07 - Jussi Jaaskelainen
2005/06 - Kevin Nolan

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
6 Cambridge United 3 6
7 Derby County 3 6
8 Bolton Wanderers 3 5
9 Portsmouth 3 5
10 Accrington Stanley 3 5
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston