Jeremy Simpson to Referee Middlesbrough v Bolton

  • December 24, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Jeremy Simpson will referee Boxing Day's Sky Bet Championship fixture between Middlesbrough and Bolton at the Riverside Stadium.

Wanderers go into the game on the back of a 2-0 victory at home to Cardiff City on Saturday, while Boro ran out 2-1 winners at Sheffield Wednesday that same afternoon - a result which couldn't prevent manager Garry Monk from losing his job.

Simpson, who will take charge of the game, has officiated 22 matches so far this season - issuing 92 yellow cards and five red.

His most recent outing was on December 22, when he was the man in the middle for Brentford's 2-1 win at Norwich City in the Championship. The Lancashire official produced four yellow cards in that game, split evenly at two per team.

Simpson's last match in charge of Bolton was on September 30, when they were beaten 1-0 by Aston Villa in a Championship clash at Villa Park. Four cautions were issued that afternoon, with Mark Beevers, David Wheater and Karl Henry amongst the recipients, whilst Villa defender Neil Taylor was shown a straight red card in the closing stages.

The last time he refereed a Boro fixture was on November 5, as they ran out 1-0 winners in a derby clash with Sunderland at the Riverside Stadium. Five players entered the book that day, of which only one was on the home side.

Below is the full set of officials for Tuesday's game between Middlesbrough and Bolton:

Referee: Jeremy Simpson
Assistant Referees: Shaun Hudson and Steven Meredith
Fourth Official: Scott Oldham

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Southend United 0 0
21 Sunderland 0 0
22 Tranmere Rovers 0 0
23 Wycombe Wanderers 0 0
24 Bolton Wanderers 0 -12
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone