Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Barnsley

  • December 02, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

December is likely to play a pivotal part in the battle against Championship relegation, with bottom-club Bolton starting at home to Barnsley.

Having crashed to a 5-1 defeat at Wolverhampton Wanderers last time out, the Trotters dropped to the foot of the division with just 13 points from their 19 games so far this season.

The omens are good ahead of their latest outing though, with Wanderers unbeaten in their last 11 league games against the Tykes - winning five and drawing six - a run which stretches back 20 years when both clubs were in the Premier League.

Bolton will be without David Wheater, who serves a one-match suspension after accumulating five yellow cards so far this campaign.

Reece Burke is expected to deputise alongside Mark Beevers at the heart of the defence, although the likes of Derik Osede, Stephen Darby and Dorian Dervite could all come under consideration for rare starting roles.

Antonee Robinson and Mark Little appear to have recovered from minor knocks suffered a fortnight ago and should retain their places, with Robinson continuing to feature in place of the injured Andrew Taylor.

Will Buckley came off the bench to score his first goal since arriving from Sunderland last weekend but is unlikely to start, while Adam Le Fondre could once again join him amongst the substitutes on what will be his 31st birthday.

Chris Taylor and Aaron Wilbraham remain unavailable, while Jem Karacan hasn't been considered since the 1-0 defeat at Aston Villa on September 30.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Howard, Turner, Little, A Taylor, Dervite, Beevers, Robinson, Osede, Darby, Burke, Vela, Karacan, Ameobi, Buckley, Noone, Cullen, Pratley, Morais, Henry, Le Fondre, Madine, Armstrong, Hall

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
17 Sheffield Wednesday 38 41
18 Hull City 38 39
19 Bolton Wanderers 38 39
20 Reading 38 36
21 Barnsley 38 33
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2016/17 Player of the Year?
52.34% David Wheater
15.03% Mark Beevers
12.76% Gary Madine
10.81% Josh Vela
3.98% Jay Spearing
1.87% Andrew Taylor
1.26% Ben Alnwick
0.85% Liam Trotter
0.45% Mark Howard
0.41% Tom Thorpe
0.24% Lawrie Wilson