Double Honours for Bolton at Northwest Football Awards

  • November 14, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton Wanderers scooped two honours at the Northwest Football Awards on Monday, with David Wheater taking the League One Player of the Year accolade.

The annual showpiece, which was held at Emirates Old Trafford cricket ground, celebrated the achievements of clubs in the local area from the 2016/17 campaign, in which Wanderers were promoted to the Championship after just one year away.

Wheater, who last season claimed the club's official Player of the Year award, in addition to numerous supporter-based prizes, saw off competition from Cian Bolger, Callum Camps and Peter Clarke, before being presented with the honour by former Trotters teammate Kevin Davies.

Earlier in the evening, the club had more reason to celebrate as the Bolton Wanderers Community Trust were awarded the Community Initiative of the Year honour for their #PositiveChances scheme.

There was to be no clean sweep, however, with Phil Parkinson narrowly missing out on the Manager of the Year award, which was instead handed to Blackpool boss Gary Bowyer.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
13 Accrington Stanley 27 36
14 Charlton Athletic 27 33
15 Bolton Wanderers 26 32
16 Lincoln City 26 31
17 Cheltenham Town 27 31
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney