Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield United

  • September 12, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton boss Phil Parkinson may have to piece together a team, as they prepare to host Sheffield United at Macron Stadium.

Winless in their opening six league games and rooted at the foot of the Championship table, Wanderers welcome last season's League One champions on Tuesday night with a squad potentially lacking in numbers due to injuries.

Derik Osede and Stephen Darby became the latest names to be added to that injury list on Saturday, with both being forced out of the defeat to Middlesbrough and awaiting the results of scans to apparent hamstring problems.

David Wheater aggravated a knee injury in that same game and is a major doubt for the visit of the Blades, as is Filipe Morais after he suffered a heavy blow to the knee that had troubled him throughout pre-season.

Andrew Taylor was missing last time out after picking up a calf injury in training last week, while Dorian Dervite also sat out that game after failing to respond to painkilling injections.

Will Buckley is another who looks set to be absent, as he continues his recovery from a minor hamstring issue, meaning he is likely to join both Sammy Ameobi (knee) and Josh Vela (ankle) in watching on from the stands.

Ben Alnwick should continue in goal, despite being the victim of a costly mistake in the defeat to Boro, while potential changes could see Reece Burke slot in at right-back, Josh Cullen return in central midfield, and either Adam Le Fondre or Adam Armstrong partnering Gary Madine in attack.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Howard, Little, A Taylor, Dervite, Beevers, Robinson, Wheater, Burke, Brockbank, Lonsdale, C Taylor, Karacan, Buckley, Noone, Cullen, Pratley, Earing, White, Le Fondre, Madine, Wilbraham, Armstrong

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Birmingham City 46 46
20 Reading 46 44
21 Bolton Wanderers 46 43
22 Barnsley 46 41
23 Burton Albion 46 41
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2017/18 Player of the Year?
53.85% Ben Alnwick
13.11% Sammy Ameobi
10.49% Karl Henry
8.39% Antonee Robinson
4.98% David Wheater
3.41% Mark Beevers
2.1% Mark Little
1.84% Josh Vela
1.57% Darren Pratley
0.26% Reece Burke