Team News: Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield Wednesday

  • August 22, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton take a break from Championship football on Tuesday, when they host Sheffield Wednesday in the second round of the Carabao Cup.

Winless in their opening four league games, which has seen them drop into the relegation zone, Wanderers progressed through to this stage for the first time in three seasons with victory at Crewe Alexandra a fortnight ago, while Wednesday beat Chesterfield 4-1 at Hillsborough in the previous round.

Trotters boss Phil Parkinson handed opportunities to so-called 'squad players' in the last stage, in which Adam Armstrong and Derik Osede scored their first goals for the club.

Both are likely to feature once again at Macron Stadium, although Armstrong could lose out to Adam Le Fondre, while the likes of Ben Alnwick, Stephen Darby, Mark Little, Antonee Robinson, Jack Earing and Will Buckley could also come into contention.

David Wheater has been missing with a back injury since the opening-day defeat to Leeds United and is on the verge of a return to action, but looks set to be kept waiting until Friday's trip to Hull City.

Josh Vela (ankle) will be out until October, while Sammy Ameobi (knee) should return following the conclusion of the upcoming international break.

Aaron Wilbraham came off the substitutes' bench to assist a goal for Gary Madine last time out and he could make his first start since arriving from Bristol City in the summer, likely as a replacement for the former Owls forward.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Alnwick, Howard, Little, A Taylor, Dervite, Beevers, Robinson, Osede, Darby, Burke, Brockbank, Lonsdale, C Taylor, Karacan, Buckley, Cullen, Pratley, Morais, Earing, White, Le Fondre, Madine, Wilbraham, Armstrong

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
2 Peterborough United 4 9
3 Portsmouth 4 8
4 Bolton Wanderers 4 8
5 Exeter City 4 7
6 Charlton Athletic 4 7
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston