Bolton to Host Sheffield Wednesday in Carabao Cup

  • August 10, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton's reward for beating Crewe Alexandra is a home tie against Sheffield Wednesday in the second-round of the Carabao Cup.

Having fallen behind in their first-round tie at the Alexandra Stadium, second-half goals from Adam Armstrong and Derik Osede sealed Wanderers' passage into round two for the first time in three seasons.

Wednesday, meanwhile, made light work of Chesterfield, running out comfortable 4-1 winners over Chesterfield at Hillsborough.

Bolton and the Owls have been drawn together three times previously in the competition, most recently at the fourth-round stage in 1999 - when Wanderers secured a 1-0 victory at the Reebok Stadium en route to the semi-finals.

Their latest meeting will take place at Macron Stadium in the week commencing August 21, 2017.

Carabao Cup Second Round Draw - 2017/18

Southern Section

Brentford v Queens Park Rangers
Ipswich Town v Crystal Palace
Bristol City v Watford
Charlton Athletic v Norwich City
Cheltenham Town v West Ham United
Brighton & Hove Albion v Barnet
Cardiff City v Burton Albion
Southampton v Wolverhampton Wanderers
Fulham v Bristol Rovers
Milton Keynes Dons v Swansea City
Birmingham City v Bournemouth
Reading v Millwall

Northern Section

Carlisle United v Sunderland
Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield Wednesday
Accrington Stanley v West Bromwich Albion
Newcastle United v Nottingham Forest
Leeds United v Newport County
Stoke City v Rochdale
Huddersfield Town v Rotherham United
Middlesbrough v Scunthorpe United
Doncaster Rovers v Hull City
Blackburn Rovers v Burnley
Sheffield United v Leicester City
Aston Villa v Wigan Athletic
Barnsley v Derby County or Grimsby Town

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
2 Peterborough United 4 9
3 Portsmouth 4 8
4 Bolton Wanderers 4 8
5 Exeter City 4 7
6 Charlton Athletic 4 7
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston