Davies, Moxey & Wilson Released by Bolton

  • May 19, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/c180c

Bolton have confirmed Mark Davies, Dean Moxey and Lawrie Wilson will all leave the club when their contracts expire on June 30.

Davies, who joined Wanderers in a £1million deal from Wolverhampton Wanderers in January 2009, made 208 appearances in eight-and-a-half years at Macron Stadium, scoring 16 goals, but featured just six times this season after long-standing knee issues struck again last August and ruled him out for the duration of the campaign.

He will remain at the club's Lostock training base on non-contract terms while he continues his ongoing rehabilitation from the potentially career-ending injury.

Moxey arrived at Bolton on a free transfer from Crystal Palace in July 2014 but struggled to fully establish himself with the Trotters, having bore the brunt of frustrations from supporters throughout his time at the club.

He made 82 appearances during his three years at the club, scoring two goals, with his last outing coming in defeat at Oldham Athletic on April 15.

News of Wilson's departure may come as a surprise, however, after he seemingly claimed back a place in the first-team squad under Phil Parkinson, having spent time on loan at Peterborough United during the 2015/16 campaign.

Wilson made 26 of his 39 appearances for Wanderers this season, before suffering a combination of back and hamstring injuries suffered at Milton Keynes Dons in February ruled him out of the final three months of the campaign.

The trio take Bolton's released list up to eight so far, following news that Liam Trotter, Reece Wabara, Lewis Buxton, Tom Thorpe and William Jaaskelainen will also depart on June 30.

Meanwhile, Wanderers have confirmed their six loanees - Adam Le Fondre, Andrew Taylor, Chris Long, James Henry, Tom Thorpe and Viv Solomon-Otabor - have all returned to their parent clubs, while negotiations continue with a number of other out-of-contract players, following reports on Thursday that several names, including David Wheater, Filipe Morais, Gary Madine and Jem Karacan had turned down initial offers of new contracts.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
2 Peterborough United 4 9
3 Portsmouth 4 8
4 Bolton Wanderers 4 8
5 Exeter City 4 7
6 Charlton Athletic 4 7
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston