Gary Speed Inducted into Football Museum Hall of Fame

  • April 20, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Gary Speed will be inducted into the National Football Museum Hall of Fame, after being selected by an esteemed panel.

Speed, who made 139 appearances for Bolton between 2004 and 2007, is to be inducted for his dedication to the game, which also saw him represent clubs in the form of Leeds United, Everton, Newcastle United and Sheffield United - as well as earning 85 caps for the Wales national team.

Upon retirement from the game, Speed had a brief tenture in charge of Sheffield United, before taking over the reigns of his country in December 2010.

He tragically lost his life in November 2011, but Speed's name lives on and he will be inducted in the Hall of Fame this coming September, after being selected by greats such as Sir Geoff Hurst, Gordon Banks, Sir Bobby Charlton, Peter Schmeichel, Roger Hunt, Kevin Keegan, Bryan Robson, Francis Lee, Trevor Francis, Ossie Ardiles, George Cohen, Norman Hunter, Sue Lopez and Marianne Spacey.

Joining Speed in the class of 2017 are Frank Lampard, Steven Gerrard, Billy Bonds, Bob Wilson, Kelly Smith and Rachel Yankey.

The ceremony will take place at the National Football Museum, in Manchester, on September 21, 2017.

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Hull City 17 17
21 Birmingham City 17 15
22 Burton Albion 18 14
23 Bolton Wanderers 18 13
24 Sunderland 18 11
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2016/17 Player of the Year?
52.34% David Wheater
15.03% Mark Beevers
12.76% Gary Madine
10.81% Josh Vela
3.98% Jay Spearing
1.87% Andrew Taylor
1.26% Ben Alnwick
0.85% Liam Trotter
0.45% Mark Howard
0.41% Tom Thorpe
0.24% Lawrie Wilson