Bolton Defenders Make PFA Team of the Year

  • April 20, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton duo David Wheater and Mark Beevers have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year.

In addition to earning places in the EFL League One Team of the Season, 'Wheavers', as they have become known amongst Wanderers supporters, have also earned the backing of the Professional Footballers' Association.

After suffering relegation from the Championship last season, manager Phil Parkinson has succeeded with a defence-first attitude at Macron Stadium, with 36 goals conceded in 44 league games the best record of any team in the EFL - level with Premier League-bound Brighton & Hove Albion.

Beevers (49) and Wheater (47) have featured in almost all of Bolton's 52 matches in all competitions, whilst also proving their worth in attack by scoring seven goals each.

Their inclusion in the PFA League One Team of the Year comes ahead of this Sunday's awards ceremony at the Grosvenor House in London and comes after votes from PFA Members from each club in the division.

PFA League One Team of the Year - 2016/17

Goalkeeper: Simon Moore (Sheffield United)

Defender: Kieron Freeman (Sheffield United)
Defender: Mark Beevers (Bolton Wanderers)
Defender: David Wheater (Bolton Wanderers)
Defender: James Meredith (Bradford City)

Midfielder: Mark Duffy (Sheffield United)
Midfielder: John Fleck (Sheffield United)
Midfielder: Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)
Midfielder: Erhun Oztumer (Walsall)

Forward: Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
Forward: James Vaughan (Bury)

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Hull City 17 17
21 Birmingham City 17 15
22 Burton Albion 18 14
23 Bolton Wanderers 18 13
24 Sunderland 18 11
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2016/17 Player of the Year?
52.34% David Wheater
15.03% Mark Beevers
12.76% Gary Madine
10.81% Josh Vela
3.98% Jay Spearing
1.87% Andrew Taylor
1.26% Ben Alnwick
0.85% Liam Trotter
0.45% Mark Howard
0.41% Tom Thorpe
0.24% Lawrie Wilson