BWFC Player of the Year Nominee - Jay Spearing

  • April 12, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

With voting for your 2016/17 Bolton Wanderers Player of the Year now open, we review the campaign of award nominee Jay Spearing.

Free from a contractual wrangle which had previously required Bolton to pay £100,000 to Liverpool upon completion of 50% of league matches, Spearing has been left to enjoy what could prove to be his final campaign in a Wanderers shirt - the majority of which has been spent as captain.

In each of the last two campaigns, Spearing was restricted to just 23 appearances before being shipped out on loan to Blackburn Rovers in 2014/15 and left in limbo as his career was put on hold in 2015/16.

Following injury to Darren Pratley on the opening day of this season, Spearing took responsibility for the captaincy and has led by example as Phil Parkinson's side have put themselves on the brink of automatic promotion to the Championship.

Whether Spearing will be around if Wanderers achieve their ultimate goal remains to be seen, with discussions with out-of-contract players yet to take place, but the former Liverpool midfielder will end this campaign with a nomination for our annual award - as he looks to become only the third player to win it on two separate occasions, following his success in 2013.

At the time of publication, Spearing has made 38 appearances for Wanderers this season and has scored three goals - his best return in five years at Macron Stadium.

Polls for YOUR 2016/17 Bolton Wanderers Player of the Year will remain open until 5pm on April 28, 2017. Has Spearing earned your vote? Make your selection by using the poll in the right-hand column of the website.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone