[POLL] Bolton Wanderers Player of the Year - 2016/17

  • March 27, 2017 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/2d3b5

Bolton Wanderers have seen a resurgence in 2016/17 and the time has come for you, the supporters, to vote for your Player of the Year.

12 months ago, Rob Holding emerged from the Wanderers academy to take the award, as his individual performances stood out in an otherwise record-breaking-low campaign for the club, who ultimately dropped into the third tier of English football for the first time since 1993.

After Holding completed a transfer to Arsenal last July, we are all but guaranteed a new name on the trophy - with Jay Spearing the only player eligible for selection who has previously won the award, back in 2012/13.

Spearing is one of 11 eligible for your vote, with he and the 10 that join him all falling under the following criteria:

- Players must have been at the club since the closure of the summer transfer window.
- Players must have made a minimum of 20 starts in all competitions by the end of March.

Votes can be made by using the poll in the right-hand column of the website. Polls will close at 5pm on April 28, 2017, with the winner being announced following Bolton's final game of the season, against Peterborough United, 48 hours later.

Below are the 11 players eligible for your vote this season.

- Andrew Taylor
- Ben Alnwick
- David Wheater
- Gary Madine
- Jay Spearing
- Josh Vela
- Lawrie Wilson
- Liam Trotter
- Mark Beevers
- Mark Howard
- Tom Thorpe

Zach Clough is ineligible for selection, following his mid-season transfer to Nottingham Forest.

Previous winners of the Burnden Aces Player of the Year award are as follows:

2015/16 - Rob Holding
2014/15 - Tim Ream
2013/14 - Tim Ream
2012/13 - Jay Spearing
2011/12 - Nigel Reo-Coker
2010/11 - Stuart Holden
2009/10 - Lee Chung-Yong
2008/09 - Kevin Davies
2007/08 - Kevin Davies
2006/07 - Jussi Jaaskelainen
2005/06 - Kevin Nolan

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone