Holding Tastes Success as England Win Toulon Tournament

  • May 29, 2016 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/ecf18

Rob Holding added to his list of individual accolades as England's under-21 side beat France to win the Toulon Tournament.

Holding, who was an unused substitute in Sunday's final at Parc des Sports, in Avignon, completed two of the Young Lions' five games over the course of the last week as he helped Gareth Southgate's side win the competition for the first time since 1994.

First-half goals from Chelsea duo Lewis Baker and Ruben Loftus-Cheek proved decisive against the host nation, who set up a tense finale when Abdou Diallo netted a consolation with just two minutes remaining.

Having cleaned house at Bolton's end-of-season awards, taking the Player of the Year honour in the process, Holding now has international success on his CV ahead of a summer which has already seen him heavily linked with moves to Premier League trio Arsenal, Everton and Tottenham Hotspur.

After being named in the squad as a late replacement for injured Everton defender Brendan Galloway, Holding has now put himself into contention for a place in Southgate's party when qualifying for the European U21 Championships resumes in September.

France U20: Escales, Confais, Niakhate, Diakhaby, Kemen, Peirera (Robinet 59), Fulgini (D'Arpino 41), Konate (Batubatsika 68), Bamba (Mousset 48), Diallo, Guirassy
Subs Not Used: Kamara, Coulibaly, Lamonge
Booked: Konate
Goals: Diallo 78

England U21: Pickford, Iorfa, Chambers, Hause, Targett (Stephens 80), Chalobah, Ward-Prowse, Baker, Loftus-Cheek, Redmond, Watmore (Swift 65)
Subs Not Used: Gunn, Woodrow, Grelish, Grimes, Holding, Palmer
Booked: Loftus-Cheek, Swift
Goals: Baker 8, Loftus-Cheek 38

Referee: Joao Silva (Portugal)

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston