Post-Match: Phillips on Bolton's Win Over Hull City

  • April 30, 2016 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Jimmy Phillips paid tribute to Bolton's supporters, after signing off a difficult season at Macron Stadium with a 1-0 victory over Hull City.

Stephen Dobbie came off the bench to score the only goal of the game against the Tigers, giving Phillips a first win in eight attempts as interim manager and providing a well-needed boost of confidence ahead of a trip to Fulham on the final day of the season.

Speaking after the game, Phillips expressed his delight at being able to send fans home happy and believes the win can provide a ray of light at the end of one of the toughest campaigns the club has ever endured.

"With the great support we had here today, you'd be forgiven for thinking we were perhaps going into the play-offs," Phillips told BBC Radio Manchester. "Particularly in the last two or three minutes, going into injury time, to make sure we got the victory.

"To send the supporters home with hope for next season was vitally important today and I'm delighted we managed to do that.

"Tyler Garratt made his full debut and I thought he did very well again. George Newell came on up front and certainly made it difficult for Hull's centre-backs.

"There are a number of young players in and around the club and we've had a number of good players in previous seasons. The problem is they haven't had the opportunity. These players have had an opportunity to show they can play a part in the club's future and I think, moving forward, we have to get the right blend of experienced players mixed with the younger players who can provide the legs and hopefully a bit of quality."

Football betting site Betway


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Cheltenham Town 40 72
2 Cambridge United 41 71
3 Bolton Wanderers 41 70
4 Morecambe 41 66
5 Tranmere Rovers 41 65
View Full Standings >>