Bolton Wanderers 0-0 Charlton Athletic

  • April 19, 2016 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Charlton Athletic will join Bolton in League One next season, after a goalless draw between the two sides confirmed the Addicks' relegation.

In a game devoid of any real quality at Macron Stadium, it was Wanderers who came closest to taking all three points when David Wheater forced a smart save out of Nick Pope with a header shortly after the break.

But neither side could find a way through in a game which summed up the collective failures of both clubs throughout a dismal campaign.

Interim manager Jimmy Phillips made one change to the Bolton side that lost at home to Middlesbrough on Saturday, as Oscar Threlkeld started a first game for the Trotters since May 2015, following his return from a loan spell at Plymouth Argyle. Dean Moxey was the one to drop out, although he did take up a place amongst the substitutes.

It was the home side who began the brighter of the two teams, with Threlkeld forcing an early corner after latching on to a pass from Mark Davies. From the resulting ball into the box, Emile Heskey saw a header deflect behind before Zach Clough dragged a shot wide from the next set-piece.

Heskey couldn't quite stretch enough to meet a low cross from Threlkeld moments later, before Charlton's first serious attack of the game was brought to a halt as a superb sliding challenge from Niall Maher denied Simon Makienok a clear run on goal.

Clough fired wide, before Makienok headed straight at Ben Amos as the clock ticked beyond the 20-minute mark, while Derik Osede volleyed narrowly over the crossbar after the visitors had failed to deal with a long-throw into the box from Threlkeld.

Pope was called into action for the first time on the half-hour, making a routine stop to keep out Maher, while Ademola Lookman twice fired high and wide as Charlton looked to gain a foothold in the match.

Wanderers had the ball in the net five minutes before the break, only for Clough to be denied by an offside flag of the assistant referee, meaning the two teams went in scoreless at the end of a sluggish opening 45 minutes.

There were no changes to either side at the start of the second period, which began with Wheater forcing a smart reaction save out of Pope as he met a corner from Clough.

Pope was required again moments later, this time keeping out a flick from Heskey as he got on the end of a throw-in from Maher, before Wheater's rebound was deflected behind by the outstretched leg of a defender.

Lookman should have given Charlton the lead on the hour, as his individual run ended with a shot that was parried by Amos, but it wasn't until the final 10 minutes that either side managed to create further shooting opportunities in the final third.

This time it fell the way of Darren Pratley, but he couldn't quite get the contact required to poke Threlkeld's low cross into the net.

Substitute Kaiyne Woolery drilled an effort into the side netting in the latter stages, while Rod Fanni volleyed wide with one final chance for the visitors, who were unable to find the victory required to delay their inevitable relegation - with a 0-0 draw meaning both sides will play in the third-tier of English football next season.

Bolton will continue to play for pride when they return to action on Saturday, as they look to claim a first away victory of the campaign at the scene of their last success on the road - Cardiff City.

Bolton Wanderers: Amos, Threlkeld, Holding, Wheater, Maher, Osede, Davies, Vela, Pratley, Clough, Heskey (Woolery 66)
Subs Not Used: Rachubka, Moxey, Danns, Dobbie, Wilson, Walker

Charlton Athletic: Pope, Fanni, Teixeira, Lennon, Motta, Jackson (Diarra 65), Cousins, Suk-young (Harriott 63), Lookman, Vetokele (Bergdich 74), Makienok
Subs Not Used: Kashi, Fox, Ba, Mitov

Referee: Eddie Ilderton
Attendance: 12,257

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston