Bolton & Man City Legend Honoured by Queen Elizabeth II

  • December 30, 2015 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton and Manchester City legend Francis Lee has been made a CBE, after being named in the Queen's New Year's Honours list for 2016.

Lee, who was born in Bolton in 1944, began his professional career with Wanderers, scoring 106 goals in 210 appearances, before completing a then club record £60,000 transfer to Manchester City in 1967.

In his first season at Maine Road, Lee scored 16 goals, including one on the final day of the campaign, as City were crowned champions of England. He would go on to win the FA Cup during a seven-year spell with the club, as well as a League Cup, two Charity Shields and a UEFA Cup Winners' Cup.

He ended his playing career with a two-year spell at Derby County, between 1974 and 1976, where he added to his medal collection with the First Division title in 1975 and FA Charity Shield later that year.

After retiring from the game, Lee established his own toilet roll manufacturing business and would later go on to become chairman of Man City - where he reigned from 1994 to 1998, with the club on the verge of relegation to the third tier of English football.

The 71-year-old has been honoured for his services to football and charity and is one of 10 individuals to have been recognised in relation to the sport. Other notable inclusions are Denis Law, who represented both Manchester City and Manchester United during his career, as well as England Women's duo Stephanie Houghton and Fara Williams.

Queens' New Year's Honours List - 2016 (Selected)

Ms Heather Victoria RABBATTS, CBE (Lower Hardres, Kent)
For public service and services to Football and Equality.

Denis LAW (Altrincham, Cheshire)
For services to Football and charity.

Francis Henry LEE (Wilmslow, Cheshire)
For services to Football and charity.

Miss Stephanie Jayne HOUGHTON (Shotton Colliery, Durham)
Captain, England Women's Football Team and Manchester City Women's Football Club. For services to Football.

Brian Russell LEE (Lane End, Buckinghamshire)
Chair, Football Conference Trust and President, Football Conference. For services to Football.

Ms Jacqueline Anne OATLEY (Esher, Surrey)
Sports Broadcaster and Board Member, Women in Football. For services to Broadcasting and Diversity in Sport.

Miss Fara WILLIAMS (Liverpool, Merseyside)
Midfielder, England Women and Liverpool Ladies. For services to Women's Football and charity.

David Ian BUCHANAN (Oban, Argyll and Bute)
Secretary, Oban Saints Amateur Football Club. For voluntary service to Football.

Alan CROCKER (Calne, Wiltshire)
Founder, Derry Hill United Football Club. For services to Football in Wiltshire.

David Melvyn HANDO (Newport)
For services to the community in Newport and to Newport County Association Football Club.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
2 Peterborough United 4 9
3 Portsmouth 4 8
4 Bolton Wanderers 4 8
5 Exeter City 4 7
6 Charlton Athletic 4 7
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston