Robert Hall Nets First Senior Hat-Trick

  • April 19, 2015 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Robert Hall scored his first senior hat-trick on Saturday, as MK Dons maintained their League One promotion hopes with a 6-1 victory over Leyton Orient.

Hall, who joined the Dons on loan from Bolton in March, netted three times on an afternoon which saw Karl Robinson's side move to within a point of second-placed Preston North End, as the battle for a place in next season's Championship intensifies.

Already leading through Dean Bowditch's 22nd minute opener, Hall scored his first of the afternoon two minutes later as a speculative cross from the right evaded everybody in the middle before nestling in the corner of Alex Cisak's net.

Will Grigg made it 3-0 from the penalty spot with less than half-an-hour played, before Hall doubled his tally with an outstanding 25-yard volley that flashed into the top corner on 37 minutes.

He completed his hat-trick shortly before the hour, as he got on the end of a cutback from Lewis Baker and curled a shot into the bottom corner.

Orient pulled a goal back in the 69th minute when Jay Simpson found a way past David Martin, but the Dons sealed the win nine minutes from time when Dele Alli's curling shot from a short corner bounced in off the post.

MK Dons: Martin, Spence, McFadzean, Kay, Lewington, Potter (Cole 64), Alli, Hall, Baker, Bowditch (Baker 78), Grigg (Hitchcock 64)
Subs Not Used: Hodson, Green, Powell, Burns
Booked: Lewington
Goals: Bowditch 22, Hall 24,37,59, Grigg 29(pen), Alli 81

Leyton Orient: Cisak, Cuthbert, Baudry, Clarke, Lowry, McAnuff (Hedges 70), Bartley, James, Taylor (Batt 46), Simpson, Dagnall (Plasmati 61)
Subs Not Used: Omozusi, Mooney, Wright, Sargeant
Booked: James, Baudry
Goals: Simpson 69

Referee: C Kavanagh
Attendance: 10,137

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston