Bolton Announce Burnden Disaster Anniversary Plans

  • February 27, 2015 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton Wanderers will commemorate the 70th anniversary of the Burnden Disaster with a permanent memorial at Macron Stadium, as well as the launch of a charitable third kit.

March 9, 2016 marks 70 years since 33 people lost their lives at an FA Cup quarter-final tie between Bolton and Stoke City at Burnden Park, with more than 85,000 said to have been in attendance.

Wanderers will hold a number of activities in the build up to the anniversary, with the unveiling of a memorial and a remembrance service being held ahead of the home match nearest to the date.

In addition, the club have announced the launch of a limited edition third kit, with £10 from the sale of all 1,000 to be produced being donated to a local charity or good cause.

This season's third kit has raised £10,000 for Blesma, a charity that supports limbless veterans, and Wanderers hope to repeat that over the course of the next year. Supporters can contact the club with their suggestions and nominations by emailing Phil Mason -

On Friday, a prototype version of the shirt was posted on the club's official website, revealing a hooped blue Macron shirt with the names of the 33 people to have lost their lives being printed within the fabric.

A message stating 'Remembering the 33' will be printed on the inside neck of the shirt, with the Lancashire rose and '09-03-1946' - the date of the disaster - on the reverse and collar.

Details of a release date will be announced later in the year, with Wanderers set to wear the kit on numerous occasions throughout the course of the 2015/16 campaign.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Harrogate Town 13 16
15 Walsall 13 16
16 Bolton Wanderers 13 16
17 Oldham Athletic 13 14
18 Barrow AFC 13 13
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone