Harold Hassall (1929-2015)

  • January 31, 2015 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/c0833

Former Bolton Wanderers forward Harold Hassall has passed away at the age of 85.

Hassall, who was born in Tyldesley on March 4, 1929, represented Wanderers between 1952 and 1955, during which he scored 34 goals in 109 appearances.

After playing for Mossley Common and Astley & Tyldesley Collieries as a teenager, Hassall joined Huddersfield Town in 1946 and made his league debut two years later before completing a £27,000 move to Bolton in January 1952.

During his time at Burnden Park, Hassall featured in all but one of Wanderers' games as Bill Ridding's side reached the 1953 FA Cup final - in which they were beaten 4-3 by Blackpool at Wembley Stadium.

Hassall also won five caps for England. He scored four goals on the international scene, including two on his final outing for the Three Lions in a 3-1 victory over Ireland in November 1953 - Nat Lofthouse scored the other.

At the age of 25, Hassall's career came to an untimely end when he suffered a serious knee injury in a game against Chelsea on New Year's Day, 1955.

Hassall was appointed manager of England's youth team in 1958, 11 years before he had a short-lived spell in charge of the Malaysian national team.

After training as a teacher prior to making it as a professional footballer, Hassall also returned to the classroom after hanging up his boots by becoming a lecturer in Physical Education, as well as being appointed secretary of the Amateur Swinning Association.

In recent times, Hassall had been struggling with illness and lost his fight on Friday - passing away at the age of 85.

Everybody at Burnden Aces would like to send their condolences to Harold's family at this difficult time.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 AFC Wimbledon 18 16
20 Tranmere Rovers 17 16
21 Milton Keynes Dons 18 13
22 Southend United 19 6
23 Bolton Wanderers 15 1
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone