Bolton to Avoid FFP Transfer Embargo

  • December 15, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Contrary to recent speculation, Bolton Wanderers have met Financial Fair Play requirements and will not receive a transfer embargo in January.

Wanderers, who posted a club-record loss of £50.7million for the financial year ending June 30, 2013, appear to have cut those losses in the 2013/14 campaign - taking them below the Football League's maximum permitted deviation of £8million.

Blackburn Rovers, Leeds United and Nottingham Forest will be unable to register new players during the forthcoming transfer window, after failing to meet the regulations imposed by FFP.

After failing to win promotion back to the Premier League in each of the last two seasons, former manager Dougie Freedman wasted little time in ridding the wage bill of names such as Kevin Davies, David Ngog, Marvin Sordell, Chris Eagles and many more of the club's highest earners.

Failure to convert the loans of Craig Dawson and Lukas Jutkiewicz into permanent deals left supporters frustrated, while Wanderers appeared to be heading for crisis point after struggling at the foot of the Championship table at the start of the season.

That poor start would ultimately cost Freedman his job, but it would appear he, along with chairman Phil Gartside, deserves a slice of credit for the off-field improvement made over the last 18 months.

Financial results for the year ending June 30, 2014, are expected to be announced in the near future, detailing the full extent of Bolton's latest balance sheet - although the dates provided won't display the cost of dismissing Freedman and the appointment of Neil Lennon.

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
18 Leyton Orient 6 5
19 Oldham Athletic 6 4
20 Bolton Wanderers 6 4
21 Scunthorpe United 6 4
22 Barrow AFC 6 3
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone