Kamara Wins 16th Cap; Cameroon 2-0 Sierra Leone

  • October 16, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL: http://b-ac.es/fcb0f

Medo Kamara won his 16th international cap on Wednesday, playing 90 minutes in Sierra Leone's 2-0 defeat to Cameroon.

Four days after playing out a goalless draw against the same opposition, Sierra Leone saw their hopes of claiming an unlikely place at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations come to a close, as two goals inside the opening seven minutes from Leonard Kweuke and Stephane Mbia gave the Indomitable Lions a comfortable victory.

The opening goal arrived with just four minutes played, as Kweuke rose highest inside a packed penalty area to head home from a corner.

Three minutes later, another set-play resulted in a second goal - as Mbia, formerly of Queens Park Rangers, powered a header past Sierra Leone goalkeeper Solomon Morris.

Mbia almost added a third with just eight minutes played, but this time found Morris in fine form, while Eric Maxim Choupo-Moting came even closer in the early moments of the second half - as David Simba cleared his shot off the line.

Julius Wobay had Sierra Leone's first chance of the game, with five minutes remaining, but he shot straight at Joseph Ondoa, who kept a clean sheet in a one-sided match that all but seals Cameroon's place in the finals of the Africa Cup of Nations.

Kamara could win his 17th cap in four weeks' time, when Sierra Leone continue their qualification campaign with a home tie against Ivory Coast on November 13, 2014.

Cameroon: Ondoua, Moukandjo, Ambroise, Henri, Nkoulou, Kewuke, Eyong (Loe 65), Mbia, Mandjeck, Njie (Salli 67), Choupo
Subs Not Used: Assembe, Guihota, Manga, Etoundi, Aboubakar
Goals: Kweuke 3, Mbia 7

Sierra Leone: Zombo, M Kamara, Simbo (A Bangura 81), Dumbuya, Suma, Sesay (Kallay 46), J Kamara, Sesay, A Kamara (Kabia 69), U Bangura, Wobay
Subs Not Used: Trye, Bantamoi

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
2 Peterborough United 4 9
3 Portsmouth 4 8
4 Bolton Wanderers 4 8
5 Exeter City 4 7
6 Charlton Athletic 4 7
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston