Ream Wins 9th Cap; USA 1-1 Ecuador

  • October 11, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Tim Ream won his 9th international cap on Saturday, playing the final 28 minutes in the USA's 1-1 draw with Ecuador in Connecticut.

Ream replaced Hertha Berlin defender John Brooks with little over an hour on the clock at East Hartford's Rentschler Field, but couldn't prevent his side from throwing away an early lead.

Mikkel Diskerud gave the hosts an early lead, as he slotted past Maximo Benguera following a cutback from DeAndre Yedlin.

Landon Donovan came close to doubling their advantage as the first half wore on, before his final appearance for the United States came to an end in the 41st minute. He was given a standing ovation from the supporters in the stand, as Joe Corona came on to replace him.

Aston Villa goalkeeper Brad Guzan maintained the USA's lead before the break, saving from Walter Ayovi, but he was beaten in the final moments of the second period as West Ham United forward Enner Valencia drilled the ball past the wrong-footed 'keeper from 25 yards.

Jurgen Klinsmann's side return to action on Wednesday, when Ream could win his 10th cap in a game against Honduras as the FAU Football Stadium in Boca Raton, Florida.

USA: Guzan, Orozco (Gonzalez 62), Chandler, Garza, Brooks (Ream 62), Yedlin, Diskerud, Bedoya (Morales 62), Gyau (Wood 22), Donovan (Corona 41), Altidore (Wondolowski 76)
Subs Not Used: Rimando, Gil, Ibarra
Booked: Orozco, Corona
Goals: Diskerud 5

Ecuador: Banguera, Ayovi, Paredes (Pineida 90), Erazo (Leon 86), Canga, Castillo (Gruezo 86), Noboa, Cazares (Sornoza 85), Ibarra (Gonzalez 44), Valencia, Penilla (Plata 46)
Subs Not Used: Dominguez, Mina, Ramirez, Piedra, Uchuari
Booked: Erazo
Goals: Valencia 88

Referee: Roberto Moreno (Panama)
Venue: Rentschler Field (East Hartford, Connecticut, USA)

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston