Chung-Yong Wins 61st Cap; South Korea 2-0 Paraguay

  • October 11, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Lee Chung-Yong won his 61st international cap on Friday, playing 46 minutes in South Korea's 2-0 victory over Paraguay.

South Korea, who are ranked 63rd in the world, went into the game on a run of just one win in their last seven games, but made easy work of their South American opponents - ranked three places above them - as first half goals from Kim Min-Woo and Nam Tae-Hee sealed an impressive win in Uli Stielike's first game in charge.

In the surroundings of the Cheonan Baekseok Stadium, the home side began strongly - as Tae-Hee brought a good save out of Antony Silva in the Paraguay goal.

Silva was beaten in the 27th minutes, however, as Chung-Yong broke free down the right-wing and delivered a low ball into the box that was turned home by Min-Woo.

Their advantage was doubled five minutes later, as Lee Yong's cross from the right fell kindly at the feet of Tae-Hee. With only Silva left to beat, the Lekhwiya midfielder made no mistake in finding the net with a first-time effort.

Nestor Ortigoza and Derlis Gonzalez tried to get the visitors back in the game after the restart, while Min-Woo was harshly denied a second goal by an offside flag, as South Korea cruised to a routine victory under their new management.

South Korea: Jin-Hyeon, Tae-Hwi, Chul, Yong, Sung-Yong (Jong-Woo 80), Chung-Yong (Heung-Min 46), Tae-Hee (Myeong-Ju 77), Min-Woo (Gyo-Won 70), Kook-Young, Ki-Hee (Young-Gwon 90), Young-Cheol (Dong-Gook 60)
Subs Not Used: Du-Ri, Hyun-Soo, Joo-Young, Seung-Gyu, Joo-Ho, Seung-Dae
Booked: Kook-Young
Goals: Min-Woo 27, Tae-Hee 32

Paraguay: A Silva, Aguilar, Caceres (Benitez 46), Piris, Gomez, Ortigoza (Rojas 46), Estigarribia (Mendoza 36), Ortiz (Torales 68), Riveros, Santa Cruz (Ovelar 78), Gonzalez (Dominguez 69)
Subs Not Used: Medina, J Silva, Cardozo

Venue: Cheonan Baekseok Stadium (Cheonan, South Korea)

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
7 Plymouth Argyle 46 80
8 Oxford United 46 76
9 Bolton Wanderers 46 73
10 Portsmouth 46 73
11 Ipswich Town 46 70
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston