Post-Match: Freedman on Bolton's Win Over Rotherham

  • September 16, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Dougie Freedman paid tribute to Joe Mason and Craig Davies, after watching his Bolton side beat Rotherham United 3-2 at Macron Stadium.

Mason took the headlines by netting a hat-trick against the Millers, the first time a Wanderers player has achieved that feat since April 2002, but Davies produced another performance that has seen him come in from the dark at the start of the season.

Speaking after the game, Freedman expressed his delight at being able to field two in-form forwards and also praised the character of his players for the way they responded to a number of setbacks against the Millers.

"Tonight typifies the performance of the two strikers, who I thought were both outstanding," Freedman told the club's official website.

"Joe has got a big future. Him and Craig Davies were immense tonight.

"Joe is still learning his trade but I believe when you give him game time he will get you goals and he showed that here tonight.

"Craig was a handful all night and his runs off the ball were very good. Our strikers were asking questions of the Rotherham defence all night.

"Overall, we showed fantastic character, great passion and great pride tonight to fight back.

"When they got it back to 2-2 we rallied and went again - that's what this group of players gives us. In the end we could have won by more than the score-line suggests.

"I thought we actually played quite well in the first half. We were disappointed with the goal but in the second half it was a fantastic display from everyone in the team to get back in the game.

"We suffered setbacks but still showed character coming forward. I felt the whole stadium gathered in the celebrations towards the end which was fantastic to see."

Sky Bet League Two Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Tranmere Rovers 3 2
21 Oldham Athletic 3 0
22 Bolton Wanderers 3 0
23 Grimsby Town 2 0
24 Southend United 3 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone