Bolton To Face Chelsea at Stamford Bridge

  • August 27, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton's reward for overcoming Crewe Alexandra in the League Cup is a third round tie against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

Wanderers needed extra-time to overcome the Railwaymen on Tuesday night, with Darren Pratley and a brace from Jermaine Beckford enough to put Dougie Freedman's side into round three for the first time in three years.

Chelsea, who enter at this stage due to their UEFA Champions League commitments, have won the last nine meetings between the two sides in all competitions and are unbeaten in 18 games against the Trotters - a run which dates back to December 2003.

The two clubs have been drawn together on four previous occasions in the League Cup, with both having two wins to their name.

In 1971, a 1-1 draw at Stamford Bridge set up a fourth round replay at Burnden Park - which the Blues won 6-0. Wanderers secured 2-1 wins at the second round stage in 1978 and third round in 1996, respectively, while Chelsea equalled the record with a 4-0 win at the Bridge at the fourth round stage in 2009.

The latest meeting between the two sides will take place in the week commencing September 22, 2014.

Capital One Cup 3rd Round Draw:

Chelsea v Bolton Wanderers
Arsenal v Southampton
West Bromwich Albion v Hull City
Crystal Palace v Newcastle United
Leyton Orient v Sheffield United
Cardiff City v Bournemouth
Sunderland v Stoke City
Derby County v Reading
Liverpool v Middlesbrough
MK Dons v Bradford City
Manchester City v Sheffield Wednesday
Burton Albion v Brighton & Hove Albion
Swansea City v Everton
Shrewsbury Town v Norwich City
Fulham v Doncaster Rovers
Tottenham Hotspur v Nottingham Forest

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone