Chung-Yong Wins 58th Cap; South Korea 0-1 Belgium

  • June 26, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Lee Chung-Yong won his 58th international cap on Thursday evening, playing 90 minutes in South Korea's 1-0 defeat to Belgium at the World Cup.

Defeat in Sao Paulo means South Korea finish bottom of Group H, with Belgium taking top-spot after winning all three of their games at the tournament so far. Elsewhere, a 1-1 draw put Algeria through to the knockout stages at the expense of Russia - marking the first time they have progressed into the last 16 of the competition.

As for South Korea, they played more than 45 minutes of the game against ten men - following Steven Defour's sending off - but they were unable to make their extra man count as Tottenham Hotspur defender Jan Vertonghen slotted home with 12 minutes to go to seal victory for the Belgians.

Thibaut Courtois had very little to do in goal, with South Korea restricted to harmless crosses into the box and set-pieces that largely came to nothing.

A fortnight into the tournament, and with the group stages now complete, Chung-Yong will head home after a disappointing group stage which failed to produce one victory.

Despite failing to impress at the World Cup, Chung-Yong has made history by becoming the first player to feature at two separate finals tournaments whilst under contract at Bolton. He has also made seven appearances at the finals, three more than any other Wanderers player.

South Korea: Seung-Gyu, Yong, Jeong-Ho, Young-Gwon, Suk-Young, Kook-Young (Keun-Ho 46), Sung-Yueng, Chung-Yong, Ja-Cheol, Heung-Min (Dong-Won 73), Shin-Wook (Bo-Kyung 66)
Subs Not Used: Sung-Ryong, Chang-Soo, Tae-Hwi, Seok-Ho, Dae-Sung, Chu-Young, Jong-Woo, Joo-Ho, Bum-Young
Booked: Jeong-Ho

Belgium: Courtois, Vanden Borre, Van Buyten, Lombaerts, Vertonghen, Fellaini, Defour, Dembele, Mertens (Origi 60), Mirallas (Hazard 88), Januzaj (Chadli 60)
Subs Not Used: Mignolet, Alderweireld, Witsel, De Bruyne, Lukaku, Ciman, Bossut
Booked: Dembele
Sent Off: Defour
Goals: Vertonghen 78

Referee: Benjamin Williams (Australia)
Venue: Arena Corinthians (Sao Paulo, Brazil)

Pos Team Pld W D L F A Pts GD
1 Belgium 3 3 0 0 4 1 9 3
2 Algeria 3 1 1 1 6 5 4 1
3 Russia 3 0 2 1 2 3 2 -1
4 South Korea 3 0 1 2 3 6 1 -3

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston