The Full History of Bolton's World Cup Players

  • June 12, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

The 2014 FIFA World Cup is just a matter of hours away, so we've taken a look back at which Bolton players have made the tournament in the past.

Lee Chung-Yong will represent South Korea in Brazil over the next month, as he participates in his second World Cup finals. He will be the only Wanderers man on display this summer, marking the lowest number of Trotters players travelling to the competition since 1994 - when Jason McAteer featured in the Republic of Ireland squad.

Four years ago, Chung-Yong was joined by Stuart Holden and Danny Shittu in South Africa. The Wanderers winger featured in four games in 2010, scoring twice - in games against Argentina and Uruguay, respectively. Holden was restricted to just one substitute appearance, in USA's 1-1 draw with England, while Shittu played three times as Nigeria were eliminated at the group stage.

The very first Bolton player to play at the World Cup was Nat Lofthouse, who represented England twice in the 1954 tournament. Lofthouse scored three times that summer, the last of which came in the Three Lions' quarter-final defeat to Uruguay.

Including the aforementioned names, a total of 14 different Wanderers players have made it to the World Cup finals. Next week, Chung-Yong will almost certainly become the first to feature in two tournaments whilst under contract at Bolton.

Here, we look at a full list of who has gone to the World Cup and how successful they were in their countries' quest for glory. These statistics do not display data from before or after a player's time at the club.

Player Country World Cup(s) Appearances Goals
Nat Lofthouse England 1954 2 3
Eddie Hopkinson England 1958 0 0
Tommy Banks England 1958 4 0
Jason McAteer Republic of Ireland 1994 4 0
Per Frandsen Denmark 1998 2 0
Mark Fish South Africa 1998 3 0
Stig Tofting Denmark 2002 4 0
Youri Djorkaeff France 2002 2 0
Jared Borgetti Mexico 2006 2 0
Radhi Jaidi Tunisia 2006 3 1
Hidetoshi Nakata Japan 2006 3 0
Lee Chung-Yong South Korea 2010 4 2
Danny Shittu Nigeria 2010 3 0
Stuart Holden USA 2010 1 0
Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet Championship Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
20 Millwall 31 31
21 Reading 33 29
22 Rotherham United 33 29
23 Bolton Wanderers 33 26
24 Ipswich Town 33 20
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2017/18 Player of the Year?
53.85% Ben Alnwick
13.11% Sammy Ameobi
10.49% Karl Henry
8.39% Antonee Robinson
4.98% David Wheater
3.41% Mark Beevers
2.1% Mark Little
1.84% Josh Vela
1.57% Darren Pratley
0.26% Reece Burke