Supera Moras - Elephant Returns to Bolton Kits

  • May 06, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton Wanderers have confirmed next season's kits will make use of the Bolton elephant, for the first time since 1966.

The elephant, featuing the town motto 'Supera Moras' - meaning 'Overcome Delays' - was first introduced in 1921 and featured in some capacity on every kit design until the mid 60's, before the familiar 'BWFC' crest was first used in 1975.

Wanderers have confirmed the existing club crest will be retained, with the elephant logo featuring elsewhere on official replica shirts.

Speaking to the club's official website, Richard Gough, head of commercial at Bolton Wanderers, said: "When we looked at the elephant design from down the years, the hand-made nature of the badges from that era meant there were no two alike.

"Without a single reference point, we had the opportunity to update the design for the 21st century in such a format to be trademarked as our own and for it to be more easily reproduced both in print and on fabrics."

The new kits, which will be designed and manufactured by Macron from the 2014/15 season, said the elephant was a symbolic feature in the history of the club.

Amedo Iossa, research and development manager for the company, said: "The new elephant motif is one of a number of unique and exclusive elements that we have been working with the club to incorporate into the gamesets for next season.

"We are very proud at Macron that the reintroduction of such an iconic symbol for the club has coincided with the beginning of our new partnership."

Although it disappeared from club merchandise nearly 50 years ago, the Bolton elephant has been a key part of the Burnden Aces logo since our launch in 2005.

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
8 Burton Albion 13 19
9 Oxford United 12 18
10 Bolton Wanderers 13 18
11 Accrington Stanley 12 16
12 Portsmouth 12 15
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney