BWFC Player of the Season Nominee - Medo Kamara

  • April 29, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Voting for the 2013/14 Bolton Wanderers Player of the Season is now open. Here, we analyse one of the nominees - Medo Kamara.

Less than six months after he was linked with a £16million move to Tottenham Hotspur, Medo Kamara joined Bolton in January 2013 for a fee of around £300,000.

He made his Wanderers debut as a late substitute in a 4-1 victory over Hull City the following month and didn't take long to make an impression on the home support, as he was fortunate to escape punishment from the match referee in his 16 minutes on the pitch.

Medo was a regular part of Dougie Freedman's team in the final weeks of the 2012/13 campaign and was tipped for a bright year when the Bolton players returned for pre-season training last summer.

It took the Sierra Leone international a while to get into his stride, but he has formed a successful partnership with Jay Spearing at the heart of the Trotters midfield, by showing a willingness not only to put in a strong tackle but by also pushing forward in search of goals.

The 26-year-old has been frustrated by the woodwork on countless occasions throughout the season, but does have two goals to his name. The first of those came in October, as he curled home a free-kick in a 1-1 draw against Ipswich Town. His second of the season, and third for the club, came in unexpected fashion, as he opened the scoring in a 4-0 victory over Blackburn Rovers with a diving header.

Adding goals to his game has been a welcome bonus for the anchoring midfielder, although the more gritty side to his play has seen him collect seven yellow cards as the season has progressed.

A combination of injury and illness has forced Medo out of Bolton's last four games, but he had been an almost ever-present until those problems struck earlier in the month.

At the time of writing, Kamara has made 39 appearances this season and scored two goals. In that time, Bolton have won 14, drawn 11 and lost 14 games in all competitions.

Does Medo Kamara get your vote as Bolton Wanderers' 2013/14 Player of the Season? You can cast your vote by using the poll in the right-hand column of the website. Voting will close at 5pm on May 3rd, 2014.

Here are the 11 players eligible for your vote this season.

- Adam Bogdan
- Alex Baptiste
- Andy Lonergan
- Darren Pratley
- Jay Spearing
- Lee Chung-Yong
- Matt Mills
- Medo Kamara
- Neil Danns
- Tim Ream
- Zat Knight

Previous winners of the Burnden Aces Player of the Season award are as follows:

2013 - Jay Spearing
2012 - Nigel Reo-Coker
2011 - Stuart Holden
2010 - Lee Chung-Yong
2009 - Kevin Davies
2008 - Kevin Davies
2007 - Jussi Jaaskelainen
2006 - Kevin Nolan

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
14 Charlton Athletic 21 26
15 Cambridge United 21 26
16 Bolton Wanderers 21 26
17 AFC Wimbledon 19 24
18 Lincoln City 20 21
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2020/21 Player of the Year?
56.86% Ricardo Santos
17.79% Matt Gilks
10.64% Alex Baptiste
9.94% Eoin Doyle
2.52% Antoni Sarcevic
1.54% Gethin Jones
0.42% Nathan Delfouneso
0.28% Ryan Delaney