BWFC Player of the Season Nominee - Lee Chung-Yong

  • April 27, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Voting for the 2013/14 Bolton Wanderers Player of the Season is now open. Here, we analyse one of the nominees - Lee Chung-Yong.

In July 2009, just weeks after his 21st birthday, Chung-Yong joined Bolton in a £2.2million transfer from FC Seoul. In his debut campaign at the Reebok Stadium, the highly-rated youngster played 40 times for his new club, scoring five goals and winning the 2009/10 Player of the Year award for his efforts.

While many foreign imports tend to suffer from second-season syndrome in English football, Chung-Yong's on-field form emulated that of his first year in the Premier League - as he went on to score four times in 36 appearances under the management of Owen Coyle.

His career took a turn for the worse in July 2011, however, as he suffered a horric broken leg in a pre-season friendly at Newport County. The injury would restrict the South Korea international to just two substitute appearances, totalling 17 minutes, as Wanderers were relegated out of the top-flight of English football for the first time in 11 years.

Chung-Yong struggled to adapt to life in the Championship, but still managed to net five times in 44 appearances in his first season back on the field. This season, he has once again failed to live up to expectations of supporters who remember the ability he showed prior to his injury and his goal against Sheffield Wednesday at the weekend was only his second of a difficult campaign.

Now aged 25, Chung-Yong has featured in all but three of Wanderers' matches this season - meaning he has experienced the highs and lows of a turbulent campaign both on and off the field at the Reebok Stadium.

A worst league start in 111 years left supporters with little option but to lay heavy criticism on the management and players, with Chung-Yong taking a high share of the blame from a player's perspective.

An eight-game unbeaten run throughout October and November brought renewed confidence to the players, who had started to win over some of their biggest doubters. Form dipped again at the turn of the year, but Wanderers picked up again in February and Chung-Yong opened his goalscoring account for the campaign by scoring the first goal in a 2-2 draw with Bournemouth.

Bolton have lost just three games since that date and Chung-Yong's confidence and impact on games has improved, as Dougie Freedman's side have embarked on a run which has seen them go on a run of form on the road that hasn't been seen since 2001.

A goal against Sheffield Wednesday on Saturday led to him being mobbed by every outfield Bolton player on the pitch at Hillsborough, who recognise that his strike was just reward for his efforts in the final third of the season and hopefully a sign of things to come when the new season begins in August.

At the time of writing, Chung-Yong has made 46 appearances this season and scored two goals. In that time, Bolton have won 15, drawn 15 and lost 16 games in all competitions.

Does Lee Chung-Yong get your vote as Bolton Wanderers' 2013/14 Player of the Season? You can cast your vote by using the poll in the right-hand column of the website. Voting will close at 5pm on May 3rd, 2014.

Here are the 11 players eligible for your vote this season.

- Adam Bogdan
- Alex Baptiste
- Andy Lonergan
- Darren Pratley
- Jay Spearing
- Lee Chung-Yong
- Matt Mills
- Medo Kamara
- Neil Danns
- Tim Ream
- Zat Knight

Previous winners of the Burnden Aces Player of the Season award are as follows:

2013 - Jay Spearing
2012 - Nigel Reo-Coker
2011 - Stuart Holden
2010 - Lee Chung-Yong
2009 - Kevin Davies
2008 - Kevin Davies
2007 - Jussi Jaaskelainen
2006 - Kevin Nolan

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone