Bolton Wanderers 0-1 Leicester City

  • April 22, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Leicester City won the Championship title on Tuesday night, with a 1-0 victory over Bolton at the Reebok Stadium.

Lloyd Dyer scored the only goal of the game, cutting in from the left wing and drilling a shot into the top corner of the Wanderers net with just over an hour played.

Dougie Freedman's side had plenty of chances to spoil the party, but were wasteful in front of goal as the Foxes sealed the victory that takes them back to the Premier League, 10 years after their last appearance, as champions of the division.

There were three changes to the Bolton team that drew at Charlton Athletic on Good Friday, with Alan Hutton, Neil Danns and Jermaine Beckford all losing out in favour of Robert Hall, Zat Knight and Hayden White - who was making his full debut at the Reebok Stadium.

The home side lined up in a 5-4-1 formation, with Knight being joined by David Wheater and Matt Mills in central defence, with White and Tim Ream playing as wing-backs.

The first chance of the game fell the way of the visitors, with Andy King seeing a deflected shot fly just wide of Adam Bogdan's post with five minutes on the clock.

Bolton's first shot arrived five minutes later, with Lukas Jutkiewicz shooting straight as Kasper Schmeichel after a good through ball from Liam Trotter.

King and Riyad Mahrez combined well at the other end, but they were denied a goal by a sliding goalline clearance from Wheater as the Foxes began to up the pressure.

Mahrez brought a smart stop out of Bogdan with a fierce drive moments later, before Jutkiewicz shot wide of the target after a clever reverse ball from Jay Spearing.

David Nugent headed wide on 20 minutes, before Wanderers did well to stand tall through a succession of corners from the visitors.

Danny Drinkwater and Ritchie de Laet both saw shots charged down as the game passed the half-hour, while Mahrez curled an effort inches wide of Bogdan's goal in the latter stages of the half.

An attempted clearance from Knight struck the top of his own crossbar in the final minute of the half, before Matthew James shot straight at Bogdan from the resulting corner as the two sides went in level at the break.

There was one change to the Bolton side at the start of the second period, with Beckford replacing White as Wanderers opted to line-up in a more familiar 4-4-2 formation. As a result of the switch, Mills went out to right-back against his former club.

Nugent sliced wide with the Foxes' first chance of the half, moments before Anthony Knockaert's stinging drive was parried to safety by Bogdan.

Knockaert was in the thick of the action from the next attack, furiously appealing for a penalty but the referee ordered play to continue after the ball struck Ream in the stomach.

A double substitution saw King and Mahrez replaced by Dyer and Chris Wood on 55 minutes, and it didn't take long for one of those changes to make their mark on the game.

Jutkiewicz twice came within a whisker of giving Wanderers the lead just after the hour, but Dyer, just on as a substitute, opened the scoring at the other end with a goal deserving of winning any game.

The flying winger cut inside Mills down the Leicester left and, with his right foot, drilled the ball into the top corner of the net, leaving Bogdan with no chance in front of the travelling Foxes supporters.

Bolton responded brightly and almost levelled within five minutes, but Beckford's smart turn wasn't quite matched by the finish - which flashed narrowly wide of Schmeichel's right-hand post, with the goalkeeper routed to the spot.

Schmeichel got down well to deny Jutkiewicz with 20 minutes to go, before he got in the way of a Beckford shot which came after some neat build-up play involving Jutkiewicz and Lee Chung-Yong.

Wood brought a smart stop out of Bogdan inside the final 10 minutes, before a flurry of substitutions took the momentum out of the game. Andy Kellett and Chris Lester were both handed senior debuts in the closing 20 minutes, replacing Hall and Chung-Yong, while Leicester brought Dean Hammond on for Knockaert.

A 30 yard strike from Knight hit the side netting in stoppage time, but it was the closest Wanderers came to a late equaliser as Leicester held on to claim a first win at Bolton in 21 years and claim the Championship title - ending the Trotters' seven match unbeaten run in the process.

Freedman's side return to action on Saturday, when they face Sheffield Wednesday at Hillsborough.

Bolton Wanderers: Bogdan, White (Beckford 46), Wheater, Knight, Mills, Ream, Hall (Kellett 71), Trotter, Spearing, Chung-Yong (Lester 77), Jutkiewicz
Subs Not Used: Lonergan, Robinson, Threlkeld, Iliev

Leicester City: Schmeichel, de Laet, Wasilewski, Morgan, Konchesky, Drinkwater, James, Mahrez (Dyer 57), King (Wood 56), Knockaert (Hammond 80), Nugent
Subs Not Used: Moore, Taylor-Fletcher, Logan, Phillips
Goals: Dyer 62

Referee: David Webb
Attendance: 16,569

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
1 Accrington Stanley 0 0
2 Barnsley 0 0
3 Bolton Wanderers 0 0
4 Bristol Rovers 0 0
5 Burton Albion 0 0
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2021/22 Player of the Year?
32.58% Oladapo Afolayan
30.96% Gethin Jones
21.72% Ricardo Almeida Santos
5.51% Declan John
4.05% Kieran Lee
3.08% MJ Williams
1.78% Joel Dixon
0.32% George Johnston