Derby County v Bolton Wanderers - Preview

  • March 11, 2014 | By Chris Mann
  • URL Short URL:

Bolton travel to Derby County on Tuesday night, looking to secure a fourth successive league win for the first time in 13 months.

Following on from Saturday's 5-1 win at Leeds United, Wanderers head to a stadium where they haven't tasted victory since October 1999 - when Mark Fish and Michael Johansen were on target in a League Cup 3rd round tie.

Aside from that cup success, Bolton are without a win at Derby in their last nine league meetings - a run which dates back to September 1981, when Chris Thompson and Gerry McElhinney netted in a 2-0 victory at the Baseball Ground.

Tuesday night's fixture, which will be the 125th meeting between the two sides, could see Wanderers boss Dougie Freedman name an unchanged side for the third game in succession.

Adam Bogdan should start in goal, with a back-four of Tim Ream, Zat Knight, David Wheater and Alex Baptiste providing the protection. Medo Kamara and Jay Spearing are likely to start in front of them, with Neil Danns and Mark Davies pushing forward in support of Joe Mason and Lukas Jutkiewicz.

Jermaine Beckford is available after missing the last two months with a hamstring injury, but Chris Eagles is a doubt after picking up an eye infection.

Bolton are awaiting results of Stuart Holden's latest knee injury, with his season almost certainly over, while the game will come too soon for the injured trio of Matt Mills, Marc Tierney and Joe Riley.

Derby boss Steve McClaren will have Chris Martin available, after he sat out the weekend defeat to Millwall through suspension.

Jamie Ward, Johnny Russell and Mason Bennett will all provide competition for a starting place, while Zak Whitbread, George Thorne and John Eustace could all come into contention.

Bolton Wanderers: from: Bogdan, Lonergan, Lynch, Lee-Barrett, Mears, Hutton, Mills, Ream, Knight, Baptiste, Wheater, White, Threlkeld, Spearing, Hall, Moritz, M Davies, Trotter, Danns, Vela, Chung-Yong, Lester, Woodland, Kellett, Kamara, Bastos, Beckford, Mason, Jutkiewicz, Clough, Youngs, Iliev

Referee: Graham Scott
Venue: iPro Stadium
Kick-Off: 19:45

Football betting site Betway

Sky Bet League One Standings

Pos Team Pld Pts
19 Rochdale 34 36
20 AFC Wimbledon 35 35
21 Tranmere Rovers 34 32
22 Southend United 35 19
23 Bolton Wanderers 34 14
View Full Standings >>


Who is Bolton's 2018/19 Player of the Year?
34.62% Gary O'Neil
19.38% David Wheater
18.92% Pawel Olkowski
9.27% Joe Williams
5.33% Jason Lowe
4.13% Sammy Ameobi
2.85% Josh Magennis
2.75% Mark Beevers
1.19% Jack Hobbs
1.01% Ben Alnwick
0.28% Andrew Taylor
0.28% Craig Noone